top of page

Who is DSWCD?


Davie County became a part of the Middle Yadkin Soil &Water Conservation District on March 22, 1939, along with Rowan, and Cabarrus Counties.  Iredell County joined the District  September 11, 1939.  This multi-county soil conservation district was organized under the provisions of the 1937 District Law, Chapter 139 of the General Statutes of North Carolina, to develop and carry out a soil conservation program to prevent soil erosion, floods, and sediment damage with the District, to protect our streams, the tax base, the public lands and promote the health safety and general welfare of the people within the District.


In 1963, the Board of Supervisors of the Middle Yadkin Soil & Water Conservation District decided that the county units could better serve the people by dividing the District into five single county districts.  The Davie Soil & Water Conservation District was created September 4, 1963.  The boundaries of the Davie District were changed March 9, 1966 to include all the land within the County of Davie.



The Davie Soil and Water Conservation District meets the first Tuesday of each month at 8:00am in Room 126 at 277 Meroney Street in Mocksville, NC. 

Picture for website.JPG
Mike Murphy-
Administative Assistant & Education Programs Coordinator

frankie website picture.jpg
Frankie Singleton-  Resource Specialist
Kay Anderson-
District Conservationist
Craig Myers - Chair
Craig website.jpeg
Rick Karriker - Vice Chair
Arnold Weatherman - Treasurer
Kevin Marion - Member

Landon Swisher - Member

Landon pic for website.jpg
bottom of page